The Secretary to the Government of Jigawa State, Malam Bala Ibrahim, has inaugurated peace and reconciliation Committees to ensure peaceful coexistence between farmers and herders in Janwawa, and Bagadaza in Birnin Kudu and Gwaram Local Government Areas.

Speaking at the inauguration of the committees, the SSG said the setting up of the committees has demonstrated Governor Namadi Administration’s commitment towards promoting peace and stability among its Çitizenry.

The SSG, listed some of the terms of reference for the committees to include ensuring fairness and justice in the allocation of farm lands, demarcating stock routes and grazing reserves.

He added that the committee’s assignment includes enlightening farmers and herders on the importance of each other to society and peaceful coexistence.

Similarly, the Committees are to encourage disputing parties to resolve their differences amicably.

The committee’s function, SSG added, is to ensure that farmers do not encroach on any existing tract leading to a stream, river, or water source to water livestock.

Responding, on behalf of the two Committees, the Chairman of the Committee for Janwawa in Sundumina District who is also the Jakadan Sulhu Dutse, Alhaji Ado Ahmed expressed delight for the appointment and pledged to give their best and justify he confidence reposed in them.

Members of the Committee for Janwawa, Sundumina District are:

1. Alhaji Ado Ahmed – Chairman

     Jakadan Sulhun Dutse

2. Fulani Shehu – Member

3. Sale Babba – Member

4. Adamu Janwawa – Member

5. Amadu Jangari – Member

6. Alhaji Shehu Gwauraki – Member

7. Salisu Usmman – Member

8. Abdulrahman Aliyu Safa – Member

9. Alhaji Adamu Garin Kadànya Member

10. Representative of Police – Member

11. Representative of Army – Member

12. Representative of DSS –

13. Representative of NSCDC – Member

14. Suleman Muhammad Kilan Representative of Farmers and Herdsmen Board – Member

15. D/DAGS Birnin Kudu Local Government Council – Secretary

While the Committee for Bagadaza, Fagam District has the following membership;

1. Honourable Ada Yakubu Zandam – Chairman

2. Musa Isah Bagadaza – Member

3. Ya’u Haruna – Member

4. Musa Maijama’a – Member

5. Alhaji Abdu Salihawa – Member

6. Maikudi Shanu – Member

7. Isyaku Alhaji Musa – Member

8. Sule Aliyu Sarkin Kasuwa – Member

9. Umar A. Abdullahi Jikas – Member

10. Usaini Ibrahim Yarfi – Member

11. Alhaji Inusa Bada Diñgaya – Member

12. Representative of Police – Member

13. Representative of Army – Member

14. Representative of DSS –

15. Representative of NSCDC – Member

16. Bako Amaryawa

       Special Adviser, Farmers and Herdsmen Board – Member

17. Associate Prof. Salim Lawan Isawa – Secretary

 Ismaila Ibrahim Dutse

Public Relations Officer

Office of the Secretary to the Government of Jigawa State

July 9, 2024

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *