The Jigawa State Government has inaugurated Technical and Administrative Committees for the procurement of Khadija University, Majia. 

While Inaugurating the Committees, the Secretary to the Government of Jigawa State, Malam Bala Ibrahim said Executive Council constituted Technical/Administrative Committees to advice the State Government to the Procurement process and viability for full utilization of Khadija University, Majia if acquired by the State.

The SSG said “I believe with the composition of the members of the Committees you are up to the task to accomplished of the terms and reference that are designed for the Committees”

Malam Bala Ibrahim disclosed that part of the responsibility of the Administrative Committee is to recommend to the Jigawa State Government on the Status of the University when procured (Whether to run by the State Government or through PPP); Formulate a detailed plan for take over operationalization of the University; Provide estimates of the required Financial implication for the take-off; Look into the possibility of establishing relevant Faculties. (eg. Engineering, Law, Earth and Environmental Sciences, etc); Consider and advice the Jigawa State Government on the fate of the Students already admitted in the University and assess the structure of the Physical Infrastructure and Facilities and advice how they are to be put to use.

Others are to consider and review the Academic Brief of the University in line with the new status of the University; Consider and advice on the staff projection as well as to Identify and mitigate potential risks that may hinder the smooth take off of the University.

He further disclosed that part of the terms and reference of Administrative Committee is to study the report of the Committee on Khadijah University as submitted to the State Executive Council and Come up with a working document, finalize discussions with the proprietor of the University to agree on the offer price, terms and conditions of payment and mode of handing/taking over by the state Government and to discuss further and agree the proprietor of the University to determine exact outstanding liability and determine and agree on ways and means liquidation of all existing liabilities prior to handing/taking over the University (including the status/fate of students already enrolled into the University with the view to achieving liability- free procurement process).

The rest are to establish a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU based on prior discussion and agreement in principle to consummate the procurement process of the University). To advise Government on budgetary provision based on agreed pa) merit modalities (from the first to final installment). Review and boldly all previously submitted document as part of the recommended due diligence in the submitted report and to ensure that all due diligence is followed to do proper document for the acquisition of the University.

The SSG congratulated them for the appointment and charge them to work hard and justify the confidence reposed in them.

Responding, on behalf of the Committees, the Chairman Administrative Committee on the purchase of Khadija University, Majia and the Commissioner for Basic Education, Dr. Lawan Yunusa Danzomo expressed delight for the appointment and pledged to give their best and justify the confidence reposed in them.

The Technical Committee has the Following members:

1.The Hon. Commissioner – Chairman

Ministry of Higher Education, Science & Technology,

2.The Hon. Commissioner – Member

Ministry of Works and Transport

3. The Vice Chancellor – Member

Sule Lamido University, Kafin-Hausa.

4. Dr. Risalana A. Kanya – Member

Technical Adviser on ICT and Digital Economy

5. Dr. Surajo – Member

Technical Adviser

Power and Renewable Energy,

6. The Rector – Member

Bilyaminu Usman Polytechnic, Hadejia.

7. The Rector – Member

Jigawa State Polytechnic, Dutse,

 8. Prof. Idris Sule Kazaure – Member

9. Abba Mustapha Yola – Secretary

     Perm. Sec., REPA,

10. Sadiq Muhammad Gana -Asst. Sec

Ag. Director Establishment & Service Matters, OHoCS, Dutse, Jigawa State.

While the Administrative Committee has the following members:

1. The Hon. Commissioner – Chairman

     Ministry of Basic Education,

2. The Attorney General – Member

     Ministry of Justice,

3. The Hon. Commissioner – Member

     Ministry of Finance

4. The Hon. Commissioner – Member

    Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning,

5. The Principal Private Secretary Member,

Government House, Dutse,

6. The Director General – Member

    Due Process and Projects Monitoring Bureau.

7. The Registrar – Member

    Federal University Dutse,

8. Bilyaminu Aminu Shitu – Member

9 . Prof. Mustapha Jarimi – Member

10. Abdul Ibrahim – Secretary Perm. Sec. Deputy Governor’s Office,

11. Salisu Yau Taura Asst. Secretary

      Director Special Services

Both the Committees has four weeks within which to submit their reports

Ismaila Ibrahim Dutse, Anipr

Public Relations Officer

Office of the Secretary to the Government of Jigawa State

July 4, 2024

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *